Honors & Awards to RIHEL Alumni

gold-starSeveral RIHEL Alumni and a former Board Member were recognized this fall at their annual professional conferences. Congratulations to you all! You make us proud!

Public Health in the Rockies 2014

Awards presented at the Public Health in the Rockies 2014 Annual Conference. Hosted this year by the Colorado Public Health Association (CPHA), the Colorado Society for Public Health Education (COSOPHE), the Public Health Nurses Association of Colorado (PHNAC), and the Wyoming Public Health Association (WPHA). Held in Fort Collins, Colorado on September 17-29, 2014. Download the Publich Health in the Rockies Awards Brochure.

j dale croppedJim Dale
Retired, Jefferson County Health Department
RIHEL Governing Board 2009-2011
Roy Cleere Distinguished Service Award (given by CPHA). The award goes to someone who is a member of CPHA and has made an outstanding contribution to the field of public health in Colorado. The Colorado Public Health Association’s Distinguished Service Award was renamed in 1974 in honor of Dr. Cleere who was the director of the Colorado Department of Health for 38 years.

s shimasakiSuzuho Shimasaki
Independent Consultant
Advanced Leadership Training Program Class of 2012
Award for Excellence in the Promotion of Health Equity (given by CPHA, COSOPHE AND PHNAC). This award acknowledges and celebrates individuals, organizations and/or teams engaged in efforts to advance the understanding of health equity, health disparities, social determinants of health and greater access and opportunities for communities throughout Colorado.

n tubmanNorma Tubman
Jefferson County Health Department
Leadership for Resilience Class of 2009
Lifetime Achievement Award (gven by CPHA). This award honors an individual who has retired from full-time employment in public health, in recognition of their outstanding contributions and leadership in the field of public health.


Honors, Awards and new Board Positions at the Colorado Environmental Health Association Annual Education Conference. Held in Steamboat Springs, Colorado on September 24-26, 2014.

g bareGina Bare
Boulder County Health Department
Advanced Leadership Training Program Class of 2014
Enivornmental Health Innovation Award. This award is presented to a CEHA Member or organization for creating a new idea, practice, or product that has had a positive impact on improving the environment/public health and quality of life. The purpose of this award is to recognize individuals or teams that have made an innovative contribution to improving the environment and/or protecting public health and to encourage other professionals to search for creative solutions. Change that promotes or improves the environment is the foundation of this award.

d collinsDan Collins
Broomfield Health and Environment
Advanced Leadership Training Program Class of 2006
Milton M. Miller Award. Each Year CEHA honors one of its own members with the prestigious Milton M. Miller Award. This award is given to an outstanding Environmental Health Professional in the state of Colorado.
Certificate of Appreication

l dragerLane Drager
Boulder County Public Health
Advanced Leadership Training Program Class of 2009
CEHA President 2014-2015

gammelaAmy Gammel
Colorado Department of Public Health and Environment
Advanced Leadership Training Program Class of 2012
Certificate of Appreciation

m hillMorgan Hill
Garfield County Public Health
Advanced Leadership Training Program Class of 2006
Environmental Health Achievement Award – CEHA. This award is presented to an Environmental Health professionals working in the field of Environmental Health, but not employed in an administrative position. The recipients must be a member of CEHA and is selected on the basis of their helpful, courteous and professional service in working with the public and fellow professionals, and whose service brings credibility and respect to the field of Environmental Health.